NO

Dec. 16th, 2010 04:25 pm
cleolinda: (onoz)
Yahoo is shutting down Delicious.com, the bookmark storing/sharing service.

NO

I NEED IT TO LIVE

THIS IS THE WORST THING EVER

I AM KIND OF NOT EVEN KIDDING

maybe a little

This is what I've used to tag and organize my novel and Annotated Fifteen Minutes research. If I need to pull up, say, all my research from a particular website about a particular topic, I put in the tags "victorian-london-org/opium." If I needed all the Harry Potter notes about only the actors--same process. I have 5796 bookmarks saved and tagged. And consider this: I would have lost all of them when Betsy 2.0 died if I hadn't had them on Delicious.

I just. I don't even know. This is a major tool for me as a writer. I don't even know how to handle this. If Delicious can be closed, what else could be shut down? I just--I need this to live, Yahoo. Go to hell.

Where do we go now? I keep hearing about a Diigo something or other. Something. brb, exporting all my shit.


P.S. Unlike Delicious, however, Morgan Freeman is not dead.


ETA: So far, I'm hearing three alternatives: Diigo (which will import from Delicious), Xmarks (which will import from Delicious), and Pinboard (which costs $7 and I'm not sure if it imports existing bookmarks, but people who do use it seem to love it). (By the way, these sites are slow at the moment because all the Delicious refugees are panicking.) I will probably try at least two of them, if only to get my current bookmarks backed up into the cloud again.


I know of only one way to properly express my complete and total chagrin.





Site Meter
cleolinda: (onoz)
So. To recap the last few entries: as you can see in the screencaps, the comment crossposting privacy issues aren't terrible on Twitter, but they are Not of the Good on Facebook. Turning on Facebook Connect posted my full name on my user info page without any warning. Pingbacks have been behaving erratically, but I have personally gotten links to locked entries I wasn't supposed to know about and huge excerpts quoted back at me. People have tried to turn off pingbacks; sometimes it's worked and sometimes it hasn't. Nothing seems to work the same way for any two people. LJ has updated their news entry to say that they're doing... something. I would not expect to hear any news on this front until Monday (which is a holiday in the U.S.) or Tuesday. (ETA: The [livejournal.com profile] news entry is now magically down for maintenance.) (ETA: It seems to be back now.)

Today, short version: I'm staying here, but I'm also mirroring my entries on Dreamwidth for people who choose to leave.

Long version: The new Facebook stalker button, the billion dollar investment fund, and the reason the LJ staff's hands are tied )


ETA: If you've got Dreamwidth codes and want to share them, feel free to do so in the comments.



Site Meter
cleolinda: (onoz)
So here's what happened with my phone: that last picture of the teacup, the one with the blueberry-colored New Moon Red tea in it, was taken 0.85 seconds before the phone slipped out of my hands and plunged directly into the cup. I let out a great shriek and whipped it out so fast that it was like the phone simply fell in and bounced out ("FIVE SECOND RULE! FIVE SECOND RULE!!!!"). Sister Girl (who admits to heckling me right before it happened) put on a face of pure shocked :O, like someone had just been shot (she's lost a number of iPhones to the liquid element herself) and ducked behind the fridge door ("I CAN'T LOOK!"). So I dried the phone off in a panic and even tried to suck liquid out of the bottom of the phone, since it had fallen in straight down, which gave the whole procedure something of the air of CPR ("Stay with me! *huff huff* STAY WITH MEEEEEE").

And then The man who showed up had the most magnificent... )


And finally, from [livejournal.com profile] tasterainbows: Artist sued by manufacturer stealing his work, and if he runs out of funds to fight it, he'll lose by default?



(Zomg e-book! The Annotated Movies in Fifteen Minutes: Wizards!)

Site Meter
cleolinda: (why you do this)
So: [livejournal.com profile] quietselkie sent over a merchandising sample of the latest Officially Licensed Twilight Product: Twilight Tea, as created by Luxe Tea. (Twilight Coffee also available, but not included. Which is good, because I don't drink coffee, and I ain't startin' for "La Tua Cantante." Her blood sings for him, you guys! And now her coffee does too!)




I agreed to try the tea samples FOR SCIENCE, because I am dumb.

My science is rigorous and not fake at all )


(Zomg e-book! The Annotated Movies in Fifteen Minutes: Wizards!)

Site Meter
cleolinda: (onoz)
So I finally work up the nerve to set up Camille.

Camille does not come with a user's manual.

I am serious, you guys. There's one of those quick-start foldouts and it's like, "1. Plug in the computer. 2. Flip the power switch on the back. 3. Press the power button on the front." The end. Like, it says this in 56 different languages on the back and the front, but... that's all it says. There are three discs, but I don't know what they are, and one seems to be a recovery disc and the other's "Nero 8" or something and I don't even know what the third one is. I turned on everything and it took me to a black screen with that real DOS-y looking print that said "Press DEL to setup," and it took me to some screen where--you know how you hit F10 to get to somewhere that you can put the computer into safe mode? (BIOS settings?) That scary place I never, ever go? Yeah. It looks like that. I don't know what to do with that.

So I'm currently on the ASUS troubleshooting page, but I'm not seeing a category for Here's How to Turn the Fucking Thing On Since We Neglected to Give You a User's Manual, Sorry About That. Next possible step: calling people.


Site Meter
cleolinda: (onoz)
1. Scream "GODDAMMIT!" when power goes out. Scream louder when it goes out again. >CHECK

2. Reboot. Computer is dead, claims system file is missing/corrupt. Realize situation is dire. Go into shock. >CHECK
(Note: what you saw last night, between LJ and Twitter, is pretty much the most upset I will ever, ever get, barring maybe the death of an actual human. That is what I do: zombie calm.)

3. Go to parents' computer and freak out on LJ and Twitter. Calmly. >CHECK

Read more... )



Also, our dryer died this morning.


Site Meter
cleolinda: (onoz)
So my stepfather's family is having a 75th family reunion or something, I don't even know--they are very big on the reunions--and we're now hosting a dinner (more of a grill-out, really) the first week of August as part of the festivities. Originally about ten or twelve people were going to come, but now we're looking at thirty-one, and my mother is PANICKED. My parents are having to do a lot of stuff to the house, partly because our house is just a money pit like that,* but mostly because the dogs wrought hell on it the year they were puppies. So we're having to replace the den carpet (the dogs chewed it up), the kitchen wallpaper (the dogs chewed it up), the slatted door into the foyer (third verse, same as the first), and the ferns the squirrels ate (variety!). Also, we've already resodded the little backyard (again: dogs) and replaced the gardenia and camellia bushes they wrecked (the dogs used to run run run run runnnn around them in tight little circles, and then, when they were done, pass out and nap against them) with azaleas (MY PRETTY SCENTED FLOWERS NOOOOOOOOOOO). And, of course, the Angry Jasmine, which has been buzzcut twice and only come back wrathier, and the yellowjacket nest within that had to be zapped. Oh, and the countertop in the kitchen has a huge crack in it for some reason, and one of the burners on the stove died, so we're replacing both of those (hence the helpful delivery guy with the dishwasher advice). My stepfather's out back sanding out the claw scratches on that slatted door and repainting it, and my mother and I just got back from buying incidentals at Wal-mart--extra pans for the banana pudding, foil pans to keep fifty hamburgers warm in the oven, a few wooden folding table-trays, new towels for the hall bathroom...

* Did I ever tell you that we recently found wadded up newspaper instead of insulation in the house walls? Yeah. I remember when this street was being developed and the houses were being built--my best friend at the time moved here--and apparently our neighbor's ex-husband cut all damn kinds of corners. There's a reason he's her ex now, let's put it that way. God bless this house, I love it to death, but we've had to redo it by brick and stick over the last eight years.

And then... we went to Hobby Lobby. Mom needed to replace some of the raggedy silk flowers by the front door. My God. That is one of the most dangerous, terrifying places I have ever been. We wanted to buy everything. I wanted to start doing crafts I had previously not even known existed. All I needed was craft-safe sealant/varnish and some cheap paintbrushes to improve the sparkle* of a certain vampirus scintilla minimus; I was very good and only splurged additionally on some Glue Dots, but I had to be forcibly removed from the doll furniture aisle if we were ever going to get home. In theory, my mother only needed silk flowers and artificial moss for the artificial tree** (guess who tore up the old moss). That... is not what she left with. All I know is, I hope my stepfather likes $10 Murano glass giraffes, because we've got some now.

* As a point of ever-so-little interest, here's what the previous Secret Life installment looked like before our sparkle got rained out (I never actually tried to take the pictures described). Honestly, I think the version posted turned out better, but there's a nice mental image that got left behind.

** Every single time I pass the fake tree, I make sure to greet it à la Wahlberg. "Hey, tree... you're looking good. You been working out? Say hi to your mother for me."


Meanwhile, I tried the new full 200 mg Lamictal dose on Wednesday. Mid-afternoon, I suddenly felt like crying. Not a good sign. Sounds like it's time to start cutting the pills to get some approximation of a 175 mg compromise--which I hate, because you lose some of the dose what with the crumbling and all. Maybe I'll just cut a bit of the end off (it's a diamond-shaped pill) and call it a day. Right now, though, I've gone back to my normal 150, because I've got something that has to be finished ASAP and I don't have time for this crying shit. On the other hand, I've been feeling a bit manic, which can't be good either. Maybe it's just the panicked OMG REFURBISH energy in the house right now, I don't know.


Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
So Prison Break has been canceled. This is my mother's second favorite TV show (I promise you, if the Jack Bauer Power Hour had been axed, you would have heard the rending of her garments from the other side of the globe). I emailed her the bad news, and I got this in reply:
Oh nooooooooooooooooooooooo……………….. That was really one of the best series, but I was wondering what else they could do. Hopefully, Michael and Sara can be together and Lincoln and Michael will be exonerated and the bitch will get hers!
Bless.

Meanwhile, at [livejournal.com profile] snacky's: When you get into new fandoms, is it because you discover the source material first or because you follow other fans? I say this in Snacky's comments, but--I realized that I follow actors, not fans. I mean, great watershed moments in Cleo Fannishness: "I kinda got bored with Lord of the Rings when I was twelve, but if Her Cateness is doing it, well..." "Alan Rickman at a wizard school? I gotta read this book." "Well, I mean... I know it looks stupid, but it's Hugh Jackman and vampires, so..." "Johnny Depp's in a movie based on a theme park ride?" "Dude, that hobbit guy got a big American TV show?" "Cedric Diggory's a vampire?"

So, you know: go weigh in, and stuff.

Moar linkspam )


Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
Re: LiveJournal: Here's the press release about the layoffs.

Back at the ranch, as it were, I got so sucked into this afternoon's rerun of Law & Order: Special Victims Unit when Sister Girl was over doing laundry this afternoon--it was one of those L&O specialties where they started off with one crime and midway through switched to another that they discovered in the course of investigating the first one, which was great and fantastic and all except that I kept screaming "BUT WHAT ABOUT BRIANNA????"

... maybe you had to be there.

Meanwhile, yesterday, I ran around doing housework (you know it's bad when I try to procrastinate by cleaning) until I ended up throwing up all over the bathroom. (Which then, of course, had to be... cleaned.) I have no idea what that was about, except that I'd had a heavy breakfast (well, you know: greasy fast-food biscuit) on a nervous stomach. And then I felt feverish and had chills all day (and a good bit of today as well), so maybe I'm legitimately sick, who knows.

I made Sister Girl take the rest of the Mountain Dews with her, though, so that temptation is at least removed. Also, I think the withdrawal headaches have eased up.

I'm also trying to remind myself that I may be in a hypomanic phase (what with the running around cleaning), so if I suddenly crash and don't feel magically energetic anymore, that's not a moral failing. It just means that if I feel good now, I need to make hay while the sun shines.

Apropos of nothing much, one more thing about Prince Caspian: Read more... )

Oh, by the way, I got an email newsletter/casting call from Universal Pictures, and when I tried to copypaste the info to pass it along, it turned out to be a series of image files. Huh. Therefore, I will present it to you as it was presented to me (click to enlarge): ARE YOU THE NEXT MCLOVIN????? )

Of course, I saw the name "Edward" and ran screaming, but there you are. (Oh, and the MySpace and Facebook links were clickable; at least you don't have to type those in. The latter demands to know whether you are THE NEXT MCLOVIN' OR MICHAEL CERA?!, which should give you an idea of what they're looking for.)

Speaking of Edward, [livejournal.com profile] mistress_gwen has started the comm [livejournal.com profile] sparklpires for lolfans. Enjoy.

Catchup linkspam! )


Site Meter

Don't panic

Jan. 6th, 2009 08:26 am
cleolinda: (onoz)
Obviously I'm behind from my internet being out last night, but I just have to jump in with this (via my friend David):

The Russian Bear Slashes a Social Network.
The bubble in social networking has burst, decisively. LiveJournal, the San Francisco-based arm of Sup, a Russian Internet startup, has cut about 20 of 28 employees — and offered them no severance, we're told.

... The company's product managers and engineers were laid off, leaving only a handful of finance and operations workers — which speaks to a website to be left on life support. Matt Berardo, a Yahoo executive hired on last summer, is also believed to be gone.

... The brutal, abrupt cuts suggest something different: That Sup founder Andrew Paulson (above), who paid an estimated $30 million for LiveJournal a little over a year ago, has realized his expensive mistake in buying at the top of the bubble.

I don't think this is the end of the world per se; pulling the plug entirely would just lose them more money. Sure, LJ's "on life support," but it's still here, and you never know what might happen. This could be a weird blessing in disguise, if a company that had no clue what to do with LJ ends up dumping it on someone who does know. (Hint: "We're gonna be the next MySpace!" is not the way to run it.)

That said, it's time once again to look into archiving your journal (try LJBook or LJArchive, the one I use). You know... just to be safe.

ETA: Only 13 employees laid off? (Thanks, [livejournal.com profile] jdotmi.)


Site Meter
cleolinda: (onoz)
MAJOR DOCTOR WHO SPOILER ZOMG )

I should probably start watching the show, shouldn't I? I have some DVDs and everything.


Site Meter

WHAT

Dec. 24th, 2008 07:23 am
cleolinda: (onoz)
Disney Dumps Narnia.
The plan was to get the film in production soon, to be released in May of 2010. But without a company and deep pockets to finance the fantasy, there's a decent chance that this will all go up in smoke. The key cast were attached to the third installment, but there's no telling if they'll wait around for a new bank. However, Walden does plan to shop the film around in hopes of finding someone willing to fork over the money. I imagine that it will be a pretty hard sell -- the second only pulled in close to have what The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe pulled in, so it's far from a sure bet, box office-wise.


WHY IS OUR GOD AN ANGRY GOD


Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
MOAR CHRISTMAS SHOPPING. I know it sounds like we do nothing but shop these days, but the thing is, we're going out a lot and to a lot of different places, but we're really not returning with all that much. Also, it's really hard to find the right gift for some of the people on our list. So there's that.

Meanwhile, on the way home from our last excursion of the day, we dropped by my grandmother's to bring her some more ornaments. On the way out, I stopped to play with a--I don't know, I guess you'd call it a banner? It kind of looks like a long flat bell pull? I don't know. She has it hanging on her front door, and it's this tan-colored strip of fabric with little decorated felt Christmas trees, edged with shiny gold rickrack. "I loved this when I was a kid," I told her, shaking it a little so the bells would jingle. "Ruth made that," my grandmother said warmly. "She really liked arts and crafts. She made all of this herself, every bit of it. Even the tassels. She sewed everything on it there--the sequins, the little ornaments, she even put the pearls on the trees. She's dead now."

I managed not to crack up until I got to the car. My mother couldn't understand why I was doubled up in the passenger seat crying with laughter. I'm not sure I understand it myself.

Let's have a little linkspam.

OMFG HE CUT OFF HIS HAIR EVERYBODY KERMITFLAIL )

THIS IS SO IMPORTANT THAT IT IS ABOVE THE CUT:

From [livejournal.com profile] sabra_n: My Fair Lady: Thompson Wants Laurie as Higgins ("The only way that could be improved upon, as one genius on the Innerwebs pointed out, is if they cast Stephen Fry as Pickering").

More movie linkspam )

ETA: Oh, I forgot to mention--someone (I've lost the comment! Who was it?) suggested I claim my author profile on GoodReads, so I'm over there now as well. If you have any idea what I should put under "about this author," let me know.


Site Meter
cleolinda: (galadriel)
I feel the need to address a couple of misconceptions in this MSNBC article:

1. The name of my journal/blog/site, whatever you want to call it, is Occupation: Girl. "Cleoland" is my silly little wiki where I organize material from the journal so I can find it again or link to an explanation of something (who's who in my life, in-jokes, whatever.) Because there are only so many times you can go fishing around for the actual Meadow of Great Sparkle text or "He's a 108-year-old virgin, so obviously he's got some issues there" quote before you just go, "My life would be so much easier if I had a list somewhere."

2. I do actually write about things other than Twilight. Not that you would know it from the last couple of weeks, but I do. NO, SHUT UP, I DO! Sometimes I... write about other vampire-related media?

... Shit.

I really am going to have to go ahead with the Watchmen for Dummies primer I wanted to do, aren't I? Just to defend my own good name.


(Oh holy God, my cover's been blown again. Don't get me wrong, I'm flattered and appreciative of the mention. I'm just... shy? Maybe that's it? Please don't come over here and eat my face, Twihards. I'm really not freesia-flavored tasty, I swear.)


Site Meter
cleolinda: (black ribbon2)
Not much to report today, except that I did get some interesting plot hinks hashed out on Black Ribbon. I also decided that a scene I really liked in the original three chapters is going to have to go (kill your darlings and all that), because it just doesn't make sense anymore in terms of who's supposed to know what when, and I need to stop working myself into pretzels trying to figure out how to make it work. Sadly, it just doesn't anymore.

Linkspam! Panda hipsters, Sir Penguin, the Pratchgan )


Site Meter
cleolinda: (onoz)
Harry Potter 6 Pushed Back to Summer '09. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!
In making the announcement, Mr. Horn stated, "Our reasons for shifting 'Half-Blood Prince' to summer are twofold: we know the summer season is an ideal window for a family tent pole release, as proven by the success of our last 'Harry Potter' film, which is the second-highest grossing film in the franchise, behind only the first installment. Additionally, like every other studio, we are still feeling the repercussions of the writers' strike, which impacted the readiness of scripts for other films—changing the competitive landscape for 2009 and offering new windows of opportunity that we wanted to take advantage of. We agreed the best strategy was to move 'Half-Blood Prince' to July, where it perfectly fills the gap for a major tent pole release for mid-summer."
"Also, we are going to be totally screwed when The Dark Knight is no longer around to mint us money and we have fuck-all to release next year. Summer '09 it is!"

*sob*

ETA: No, I don't think it has anything to do with Twilight coming out a couple of weeks later, and here's why.

Nun-strippers, Lex haters, culinary spies )


Site Meter
cleolinda: (onoz)
Oh my God. I just found out that we're going to have to pay $6200 in taxes--in part because we didn't realize they weren't withholding them already from my stepfather's military pension or whatever it is. We're going to get about half of that $6200 back, but that's the problem: we have to pay it all first in order to get any back. And this is on top of the $5000 air conditioner which I still believe was a gigantic ripoff, although it is very nice. I have no idea in the world where we are going to get all this money from, and neither does my mother. Well, she has ideas, but they involve loans and eBay. So... uh. I will be putting some things up for sale shortly. Mostly collectibles I'd been holding on to in hopes they'd appreciate a bit. But I also have a few M15M hardbacks (< 10), and a number of paperbacks (~20, maybe). They're not doing me any good, and since a lot of people can order from the UK but have told me they don't want to, well... this would be your chance.


ETA: I think there's some kind of payment plan involved--a good bit of it upfront, and then six months (?) to pay the rest of it. But then we also have six months to pay off the new air conditioner, and last year the oven died, and I think we have until November to pay that off. It's probably something like $12,000 over the course of the next six months, all told. Yeah, we're horrified. Oh, and we don't qualify for the economic incentive--we make just enough to get ourselves into trouble, basically.

Also, I have some BPAL from 2004 - 2005 I'd meant to sell, I think. Maybe it'll be worth more now that it's aged a bit--pity none of it's Snake Oil, because I hear that's fantastic after a couple of years.

As for the books, I have more than I need for myself, but not enough to go around, really. I'll probably throw the hardbacks onto eBay and see what happens (if you want 'em signed, obviously I can do it, since they're coming from me, but I'll wait until the buyer tells me what they want it to say). I don't know whether I'll set a price (via the Buy It Now option) for the paperbacks or just see what happens.

And of course, if I put anything else on eBay--I have an extra copy of the loaded Snow White DVD Disney put out a while back, for example. You know, random things like that, and a couple of LOTR collectibles--I'll link it here.


Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
Ohhhhhhhh no. No no no no no. My mother put a load of my sister's laundry in to wash this morning and asked me to put it in the dryer for a little bit and then hang it all up to dry. (For those of you asking where my sister was that she couldn't do her own laundry, her shift started at five this morning and she had a class last night. She's been a lazy cuss in the past, yes, but for the last six months, her schedule's been insane.) So I throw the clothes in the dryer, don't really look at them, and come back a couple of hours later to hang them up. They're covered in spots. Clutches of small, random, oily spots. Most of the load was polo shirts for work, but also in there? The outfit she was going to wear on her date tonight. Ohhhhhhhh no. And Sister Girl has, let us say, an Irish temper. I thought I had an Irish temper, but I realized it isn't really--with me, the amount of bluster is inversely proportionate to the actual amount of mad I am. I read something ridiculous in the paper, and it's like, "OH, WHATEVER, I CANNOT BELIEVE THIS GUY, DID YOU SEEEEEEE THIS?!"; someone does something shitty directly to me and I turn into my mother with the "I'm sorry, this is NOT ACCEPTABLE BEHAVIOR" Terrifying Calm thing. With Sister Girl, on the other hand, the dial's pretty much on eleven all the time. We're all going to die, is what I'm saying.

CSI: Special Laundry Unit )

Movies this weekend: The Wicker Man at 17% fresh: snap. Crank seems to have amazingly good reviews at the moment, though.

Munch's "The Scream" found by police after two years.

Meanwhile: apparently by the time y'all got to the gelfling porn Wikipedia entry, it had been sanitized, making me look insane. Well, nothing ever disappears entirely from the internet, baby. (I like how a note on the history page says, "Classified everything below the first paragraph as 'Gelflings in Fan Fiction' since that is all the contents really are at best.")

Maybe the Russian Wtf, as y'all call it, was an ambulocetus? Yeah, I don't feel better.

("Russian Wtf" reminds me of the old joke--a reporter at a garden show or a greenhouse or something (look, I forget the context) asks the gardener what the big purple flower is, and he says, "Damn if I know." Next day in the paper, a picture of it with the caption: The rare purple damifino.)


Brian De Palma talks about The Black Dahlia a bit. "De Palma was juggling simultaneous plot lines 'that overlap in ways you don't realize until later,' he says. 'Some things I changed were too complex for audiences to absorb unless they were able to pick up the book. I had to pare down a lot of the eccentricities of the storytelling. If four things were going on simultaneously, we didn't need five.'" This is the kind of thing I find fascinating, if only for my own writerly purposes.

Cate Blanchett as Bob Dylan in I'm Not There. Okay, I howled at this one. Maybe it works in action, but it's just hilarious out of context in stills. I forget which other actors are playing Dylan--seven total, I believe--but more of the cast in general is here. Definitely Heath Ledger, apparently.

Queen Fights for Right to Party, Blog. Brian May is ready to go over to MySpace and "apply a fist or two." I support this motion one hundred percent, sir.


Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)

Okay, Sister Girl is home now, and I've gotten a bit more of the story:

Sister Girl is on her way back from a Panera catering delivery at the Sparks Building on Sixth Avenue; she has a green light and is proceeding forward as normal when suddenly Mr. Magoo just pulls across--either to or from 22nd Street, I forget which one. He does actually hit her driver's side door, and she doesn't see him coming at all, probably because she wasn't expecting someone to make a rogue left turn on a red light. She hits her head on the Leet Panera Skillz buttons, etc., as described previously. So she gets out, and she says she was determined not to cry, because she figured that if she started she'd never stop. The old man is apparently seventy-eight years old and on his way to the Kirkland Clinic because no one else can or will take him. I now know his real first name, and clearly, we're not going to use it here, but suffice it to say that it's as perfect an old man name as you've ever heard. So he starts trying to convince Sister Girl that they can just exchange insurance information and not get the police involved, because they might take his license away. My sister, who is sort of woozy from the HEAD TRAUMA, decides she's going to let Mom play bad cop, since the car's in Mom's name anyway. My mother is all of two blocks away, so she arrives and the old man gets to work trying to convince her, which--good luck with that, buddy. Eventually it comes out that he doesn't even have a license because, technically, it's expired, and then the words "Because if the police get involved, blame is going to get assigned. I mean, the damage is minimal--she can drive that car home" come out of his mouth. The old man turns around and kicks his Bumper of Destruction back into place. Mom looks back over at my sister's car and takes note of the engine hanging out.

My mother pulls out her work cell and says, "Hi, I'd like some officers down here." 

(She does benefits for pretty much everyone at the university except the professors and researchers. Which doesn't sound like a lot of people, until you realize that she's got all the coaches, security guards, and campus police [in whose jurisdiction they were just barely still in at this time], among others. I should clarify--I wasn't making a lot of sense when I wrote the previous entry, but the "we found him in New Orleans" guy was one of the stories my mother would come home and tell. He has nothing to do with the accident today. The old man today, as you can see, stopped and did not have to be chased.)

So then they call Panera, so after about half an hour they've got my sister's boss and three cops (or five to six, depending on whose account you believe, my sister's or my mother's. Strangely, it's my mother who insists there were more cops. Apparently the university police are much like the Men in Black of old, in that they move in mysterious ways and numbers) down there, and the old man is pretty squarely outnumbered. As a side note, my mother said that she had a hard time being too angry with him, because she kept thinking of her own father--my sainted grandfather--who died about five years ago. He never hit any twenty-year-old delivery drivers while making illegal left turns, but he once told his doctor that he could drive himself to the hospital from the doctor's office just fine, and the doctor said, "No, you can't, because you're having a heart attack." Bless.

Anyway. I don't want to sound overly materialistic here, but once I had heard from my sister's own mouth that she wasn't bleeding, maimed or dead, I started worrying about the damage to the car. Apparently the driver's door was crushed in, the front left side of the car was no longer there, and you could not, in fact, drive that car home. Her shift starts at five am, so it's not like she's going to be able to get a ride from anyone, and she's been (legitimately) sick a good bit lately, so I was afraid that Panera wasn't going to be real happy about her needing more time off work, either. Well, her boss says not to worry--per company policy, probably because they have the delivery drivers use their own cars, it's now a worker's comp issue and Panera will pay for all car repairs and any medical bills. Praised be the Jesus, saith I.

So now it's on to the hospital. I don't know what happened back at the scene with the old man after that, but I'm sure I'll hear updates tomorrow. In the emergency room, my sister is attended by... the woman who broke up my parents' marriage. I'm telling you, people, I can't make this shit up. To say that my parents' divorce was "acrimonious" doesn't really cover it, although to say "it involved felony insurance fraud charges" comes a little closer. So: awkward. Dr. Homewrecker says, somewhat abashed, "If you'd rather me step down and have someone else look at [Sister Girl]...," and my mother just says, "Look, it doesn't matter. Go for it." I haven't seen my father in about eight years--since my parents broke up, basically--but my sister's had dinner over there with him and Dr. Homewrecker a few times, so she at least knows the woman.

Sister Girl gets settled into a hospital room for a four-hour stay. ("Shit," she says later, "it's not like we're paying for it.") She tells me over takeout tonight that she watched The Cosby Show and had a CAT scan, the latter administered by a technician named Rocky Brazil. If he doesn't moonlight as a boxer or a rock star, I say that's a perfectly awesome name going to waste. My sister is inexplicably disappointed that she gets discharged before she gets to eat hospital food for dinner, which was when I started to worry that she really had sustained brain damage, but apparently she got off light with simple "head trauma," which is double less ungood than a concussion. Dr. Homewrecker prescribed some painkillers for her, and now she's home. She gets at least one day off work, maybe two, and probably a rental car for when she does go back. Other than the fact that her head's probably going to hurt like a motherfuck tomorrow, I'm pretty sure she got through this with the luck of the angels.



Site Meter

cleolinda: (onoz)
I pick up the landline in the den when I see my mother's cell number on the caller ID. "I've been trying to call you," my mother says.

"I was outside with the dogs," I say. I actually still have their leashes in my hand, and a paper towel underfoot from trying to soak up another one of Meko's accidents.

"I've been trying to call you for an hour," my mother says. She sounds kind of tired-angry. "Your phone must be dead."

"Yeah, it ran all the way down while Sister Girl had my charger--she gave it back to me last night, though, so it's recharging now."

"She's with me. She wants to tell you something."

This might sound kind of ominous to you, but she does this all the time. "No, give me the phone, I want to tell her." That kind of thing.

"Hey," Sister Girl says. "I'm in the emergency room."

"What?"

"I got hit by a car."

"Ohhhhh my God. Were you in a car?"

"Yeah, yeah." Sister Girl just sounds plain tired. I can't hear what she says because the connection keeps fuzzing in and out, but I can tell that she's laughing. "I know I'm laughing, you [fizz fizz] I'm crazy, that's just how I [fizz fizz] with things." I dunno, I might understand that better than you think. "This seventy-eight-year-old guy with an expired [fizz fizz]--"

"Ohhhhh my God--"

"--was going to the doctor--you can imagine, he shouldn't have been [fizz fizz] in the first place--decided he just wanted to make a left turn all of a sudden [fizz fizz] left side of my car is gone."

"Ohhhhh my God."

"I hit my head--not hard, but you know, the buttons [fizz fizz] cap--" She was driving home from her 5 am-1 pm shift at Panera, I assume, and she has these little buttons they make her wear on her uniform cap to show that she's, like, instrument-rated for paninis or fully trained in the arts of salad or whatever. "I'm pretty sure they've taken his license away [fizz fizz fizzzzzzz fizz]--"

"I can't hear you at all now--"

"I [fizz fizz], we're going to be here for a while. Did you know that Mom works for the police now?"

"Yeah, I did." Sister Girl's got such an I'm a Pastry Chef and I'm Okay schedule (she learns all night and she works all day) that I guess she hasn't been around to hear Mom's many, many stories of the university police department and its benefits-related escapades. (You think I'm being facetious, but I'm really, really not. I can't really get into it because it's not even my confidence to violate, but... "they finally found him in New Orleans" was uttered at one point.) I can't tell what Sister Girl's saying now at all, but if I had to guess, I'd say that it involves how Mom's police connections are going to... something. I don't know. It's pretty clearly Mr. Magoo's fault for making a random (and illegal? I'm not sure of the exact details) left turn and annihilating what sounds like the driver's side of my sister's car. I don't know that we need superelite connections to establish that. I'm more concerned about the insurance and fixing and/or replacing the car and, you know, the possible damage to my sister's brain.

"So what I'm saying is," she concludes, "I'm not gonna be home for a while. You can go lock the door back."



ETA: I should add, she seemed to indicate that the man was driving himself because there wasn't anyone else to take him to the doctor. Also, she said something about "traveler's insurance." I actually feel really bad for the guy--I'm sure he didn't mean to hurt anyone, and he probably feels terrible now. Also, she says she's not bleeding or anything.


Site Meter
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:12 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios