cleolinda: (galadriel helpful)
So I went in for my quarterly med check three months ago, and about a week later had some long-postponed-because-ehhhhhh bloodwork done. Yesterday I went in for another quarterly check and finally bothered to find out what the results were--my psych had mailed me a copy of the results, but I just... well. I was anxious about it, I was afraid to find out, and I figured that if I was dying, someone would probably tell me. No thyroid issues, my blood sugar was (surprisingly) okay, no diabetes, something something blood count something MCHC low, my good and bad cholesterols were a little out of whack but that's probably the American way--

"Wait, blood count? That means--anemia?"Read more... )



Site Meter
cleolinda: (galadriel mist)
I have been struggling with a severe downturn. I think what's happening is that we're getting into the seasonal depression... uh... season. And then there was the ice this week (we're still shoveling it off the deck; it's too thick to melt enough on its own). I mean, maybe it's natural to be sluggish when it's 18 degrees outside. Even though the days are getting longer from mid-December on out, the lack of sunlight catches up with you about now. And I usually get depressed just after Christmas and my birthday anyway. I tried to put together a linkspam post four days ago, and I just couldn't ever get it finished. I can get on Twitter to hit a simple "retweet" button and feel like that's the next best thing, for short bursts of sociability. It's hard to explain how you can bob to the surface, perfectly cheerful for a little while, or giddy about this or that little geek-interest thing, and then sink back under for hours of brooding. The thing about depression is that you can often keep up appearances in front of other people. Sometimes I think that depression is almost a separate, sentient organism, and it works hard to protect itself--it wants to make sure you don't believe in it, that you think you're miserable because you're a miserable person who deserves it, not because you have uncooperative brain chemistry. It wants to make sure you cover for it, you convince people that you're fine. It has its own priorities and best interests, a sense of self-preservation, and the self it wants to preserve is not you.

I've been trying to write. That actually went pretty well for a couple of days, except that people kept interrupting and pulling me away to do this or that just as I was getting somewhere. So instead, I went back to reading--non-fiction, which is why I haven't mentioned it; I might do a quick writeup on a few books at once. It's the kind of thing I take notes on while I read and come up with new characters or plot additions for Black Ribbon; a lot of it is to get details for high-society scenes or help me get a grip on the international political situation circa 1889. I think I'm going to be doing this mix of real names and fictionalized characters; I'm okay with dropping the name of a real person, but much more interaction than that, and I start to feel weird. Maybe you'll be able to tell who it's meant to be, maybe not. Because the thing is, Black Ribbon isn't a wildly alternate universe, though it looks like some historical elements are going to be accelerated a little bit. Major anarchist activity is going to start about four or five years early (uh. That is maybe giving something away), and we're going to have some technological developments happen 5-10 years early. In a weird way, I think I feel more anxious about getting away with this because the story world isn't wildly different. If I were just going to do outright fantastical steampunk with the airship pirates and whatnot, I don't think anyone would call me on discrepancies, because they'd know it would be pointless. But what I'm doing now is close enough that people are going to think I meant to be historically accurate, but internets, let them tell me, I am WRONG. I guess the solution is to put in a few Wildly Different elements to signal that. I was hoping that a mechanical peacock in the first chapter would suffice, but maybe not. I guess the only thing to do is write it and see. The only way out is forward.

I know I'm behind on Varney and Secret Life, but... just... nothing. I actually think about Secret Life a lot, but I can't get the new entry to turn out right. You know how there's usually more than one storyline going on at a time? Like, we visit with two or three different sets of characters? I've got one set of characters planned out, but the other storyline or two, they're kind of vague. I don't quite know how to get this entry to fill out properly. I mean, it's a process I go through every time; I'm just completely stalled on this one. And I don't want it to take nine months to work out again. But I think I am going to have to call a hopefully short hiatus until I work it out, rather than show up each weekend and go, "Yeah... still not done" and feel worse every time. I think the guilt actually torpedoes me worse than the block itself.

Meanwhile, the Golden Globes are tomorrow night. This is one of the awards shows I traditionally liveblog (one of the many services we provide at Cleolinda Industries). I keep trying to gear myself up for it, and... ehhhhhhhh. And we've got a really good slate of movies this year almost none of which I've been able to leave the house and see, so it's not lack of enthusiasm for the nominee pool. We've got one of those rare years where almost anyone could win and it would be deserved. I just... can't muster the energy. But I have to. I hate defaulting on things I like to do just because my dumb ass feels whiny. So I'm going to try to do that tomorrow night. At least with Lizzie now, it's easy to set up in front of the TV.

Also, I can't find my Lillie Langtry bio, which VEXES ME. On the upside, I've been given a couple of new YA books, so I might get to those soon.



Site Meter
cleolinda: (black ribbon2)
Today: Spent the morning rereading one of my favorite Victorian source books (Inside the Victorian Home), paying particular attention to the food served at formal dinners and the means of serving it, which at the beginning of the century was à la francaise, and then (from France, ironically) à la russe. Then went out for a burger. As you do.

Valerie and Emily, my roommates from college, and I have actually done a pretty good job of getting out and having lunch more often; today we went over to Five Guys. I had a small run of bad luck while I was there, though, because a guy who thought he was the funniest thing ever let Valerie go ahead of him. Then his girlfriend showed up, and he made a big deal out of Emily go ahead of them--"but you! You have to stay back here!" And I thought eventually he'd kind of go, "Naaaah, I'm kidding," and... he totally didn't. He even turned around one more time and said, in tones of deep self hilarity, "Remember, you have to stay back here!" I laughed through the whole thing, but I was extremely puzzled. And then, at the soda fountain whatever thing, I slipped and fell, because my day hadn't been awesome enough yet. You need a lawyer? he said )

But the weather was beautiful and the fries were good and Valerie's little boy is a charmer, so. And next week we will take him to the zoo! I bet you have NO IDEA what I'm going to take pictures of THERE.

Earlier this week: existential despair. Then I got better and revised a lot )


Site Meter
cleolinda: (black ribbon2)
You haven't heard from me much because I have been really, deeply, severely depressed for the last couple of weeks. I tried to write up a huge entry describing what it feels like, and then... I got too depressed to post it. Maybe I'll polish it up and post it later, because I think it might be valuable for 1) people who might recognize themselves in it and 2) people who don't have depression, but want to understand what it's like for a loved one who does.

Data storage question, writing, Black Ribbon, aromatherapy, BPAL )

Anyway. That's what's going on over here.

Reminder: The Final Lostnesday is on Sunday, and it's going to be a huge Super Bowl/Oscars-esque thing with a pre-show and then a 2-1/2 hour episode and then a Jimmy Kimmel post-show with the actors (and alternate endings? I don't know if these are parodies or real). I would love to liveblog it, but honestly, I'd rather actually pay attention.

I have a couple of other things to discuss, but I think they'd get lost in the rambling here, so: we'll do that later.


Site Meter
cleolinda: (galadriel doll)
It's not Tonner Alice. ) :


Share photos on twitter with Twitpic Share photos on twitter with Twitpic


(Wow, Twitpic, way to go with the weird-ass thumbnails.)

I think this is meant to be Bryce Dallas Howard/Eclipse!Victoria. Which makes me sad, because I thought Rachelle Lefevre was pretty fierce. Good job on Alice's hair, though.

(Speaking of which, this just in: There's another new Eclipse still, and--I don't know who on this production hates Peter Facinelli and Jackson Rathbone, but someone hates them bad.)


Meanwhile, I think I'm sliding into a depressive phase again. This is a lot less grim than it sounds; it's almost more of a physical problem than a mental one, as it makes me feel very draggy and unmotivated, which is kind of THE LAST THING I NEED RIGHT NOW. I mean, I know there are ways to cope with depression--medication, therapy, exercise, sunlight, vitamins--and I'm pretty much using all of them. I'm just saying, I think we're going into that direction again.


ETA: Oh, the Resurrectionist says that he can get 94% of Betsy 2 and 100% of Betsy 1 for $315. Which is what I was expecting, and less than I had feared. I can probably even scrape it together, even.


ETA 2: ~Dramatic~ headshots. It is just an Eclipse kind of day, apparently. I'm going to try not to think too much about what June will be like.

ETA 3: Come with me if you want to dazzle.


Site Meter
cleolinda: (reiko)
Not much to say lately; I've been really tired, and actually feverish today. A lot of headaches related to the air pressure (fickle March weather).

I'm testing out Tumblr, because I figure I won't know if I want it until I try it. Basically, it seems to be like Twitter for pictures, which I like, and it's super easy to post the page you're on from your browser. Although I'm trying to restrain myself from posting every single pretty thing I know of, because I could probably post 100 entries a day at that rate. Basically, I'm posting jewelry, artwork, and a few dolls at this point, although any interesting landscape or movie-related picture I see will go up. (The Art Nouveau Disney princesses thing was pretty awesome.) I'm trying to keep the theme to "pretty things," so no Sexual Horrors of Etsy, thanks. It's my sparkly happy place.


Still answering Formspring questions, although I haven't gotten below 50 questions yet in terms of inbox backlog--I'm up to 359 answered. I haven't posted any new cross-posts from the back end, but I think the "view older answers" thing is working at the moment. Please, try to comment here on the answers rather than ask new "questions" just to make a comment. And don't ask "Have you seen [whatever]? I hope you like it," because that's clearly just trying to pimp something. Seriously, I've still got fifty questions to work through--and some of them are very thought-provoking, which is why they're hard.

(Also, a lot of the movie industry questions presume I have any clue what I'm talking about. I answered them the best I could.)

Actually, there are some questions I could use some help with--a few coming in are kind of heavy.

There's a girl at my school struggling with depression. I want to help her, but we're not close. What would you have wanted someone to do when you felt down? Do you have any depression awareness sites I could see?

Which seems like a delicate one to answer, so I don't know. Thoughts?


We will have a new Secret Life of Dolls at some point. I'm just having a hard time getting it to turn out well. This in the middle of, you know, research reading and footnote-writing. And I can't concentrate for shit. So... I'm doing the best I can.



Site Meter
cleolinda: (lolcat)
Not feeling great, but feeling less hysterically awful than I had been (see also: the last few days). So basically, I have gone from feeling "emotionally raw" to "merely fragile." Rock.

(As a side note: "Have you seen--?" Yes, I have seen it. Particularly if it is related to Twilight and came out this past weekend. Yes, I have. Yes, I have. Yes, I have. And in his defense, if I'd had as much of it thrown at my head as he has in the last two years, I'd be allergic to it too, and I HAVE one.)

I am unable to think of a segue, so: Google will let you turn Buzz off permanently now (scroll down). I mean, if you just HAVE to have your privacy, GAH.

Question for those of you going to the Neil Gaiman reading at UA later this week: is it a reading or a reading and a signing? Because either I've gone stupid (entirely possible) or the event page just doesn't say. (I don't know if there are any tickets still available, but be warned: even though tickets are free, if you don't have one, you're not getting in. They've already given out 600. It's going to be a madhouse.) If there's not a signing, that's fine; I just want to know how many hours I'm going to be standing on my feet. Because, again: madhouse. ETA: There is definitely not a signing, and it's not 600 people--it's 1200.

Meanwhile, speaking of Alabama: There was a shooting at the University of Alabama at Huntsville, and it gets weirder by the hour.

And finally: Sam is recovering nicely from his (mysteriously) hurt back foot. He is now on his third bandage boot (red again). Also, he ran out into the snow on Friday evening and made a snow angel.


Sam wrapped up on Twitpic Sam ran out, flopped over and made a snow angel as fast as he... on Twitpic



Site Meter
cleolinda: (marie sleep)
It's funny--there's something about January that gets me into a really dreamy mood. It happens automatically; about a week in (you know, like... right now) I look up and realize it's on me again. I think a lot of it comes from the pile of books I usually accrue from my birthday and Christmas--the latter half of December, bleeding over into January, is a great time to curl up and dive in. So when I got to college and my particular school had a one-month Janterm (that is, January term), it was perfectly suited to that feeling.

Because it was a liberal arts school, they encouraged us to Read more... )


Site Meter
cleolinda: (twilight3)
So I've been having these really annoying dizzy spells lately

@cleolinda I'm so dizzy. What's *wrong* with me? (First person to ask if I've been dazzled gets my foot up their sparkle.)

@Maudelynn @cleolinda: ok, are you glamoured, then ??? *runs away

@cleolinda @Maudelynn: Lord, deliver unto me a Real Vampire for some of that there.

and after going through a mental checklist of what the problem could be, I'm starting to think that it's a combination of 1) a stealth sinus infection (I have had a cough for a while, even though I haven't really felt congested), 2) not eating enough (sinus ick makes me feel queasy, as does emotional stress, 3) probably not staying hydrated enough, and 4) said emotional stress, which is coming at me from several angles and is kind of pissing me off. As it turns out, this week and the week after are turning out to be the two busiest work ("work") weeks in a long, long time if not the entire year itself, with two internet pieces and the second e-book needing to be written, plus the movie itself tonight and the podcast on Sunday (which I am so looking forward to, but it IS another thing on my calendar, you know? And the laptop hasn't come in yet, angst angst fnarr etc.), and I would really, REALLY like everyone to quit dumping their bullshit on me. I am not directing this at any one person, Friends or Family Member(s) Who Might Somehow Be Reading This. And yes, it is completely selfish of me to say that my needs require that I not deal with your problems right now. But seriously: they do. Two weeks. That's all I'm asking. Just THIS week, even. Stop dumping your shit on me and maybe I'll stop needing a fainting couch, who knows.

What I really want right now is someone around to spoil and pet and baby me. Like... someone of the opposite gender. Because you know how it is--whichever gender you're into, there's something different about having someone thereof to take care of you, someone who's actually into you. I hate saying "I want a man around to take care of me," because it's not like that--it's like, sometimes I want to ride in from the battlefield and be sheltered and patched up and refreshed every once in a while, and then go riding back out to finish fighting my own battles. And I would do the same for whoever I was with. And I want shelter right now. I guess that's the thing--I've said this before, but I don't think of love as a happy ending; I think of it as a beginning. And I wish I could begin.

Exposure to Twilight is probably a bad idea right now, isn't it?

On a twinklier note, security is apparently going to be tight at this preview tonight, and they are going to search people for phones and confiscate them (tag and bag them to return to you afterward), because God forbid someone should try to capture the dazzle on film. What I really wanted to do was use the Voice Memo function on the iBella to record the audience screaming during the Attempted Sparklecide (it's the one scene slo-mo enough for me to know exactly when to hit record), because, seriously: best LJ audio post ever. Just post that, no title, no entry text, just the roar of sparkle-inflamed estrogen. And they would DENY me this. I am INFINITELY CHAGRINED.

Oh well. I'm probably going to end up sitting through endless wolfing seeing it again with other people, most likely my mother and aunt, who want to see "Robert" it as well, so maybe I can grab some audio at a less ~*special*~ screening.


(Zomg e-book! The Annotated Movies in Fifteen Minutes: Wizards!)

Site Meter
cleolinda: (why you do this)
Depression, I have often said, is like an influenza of the soul. A spiritual hamthrax, if you will. I has it. Do not want.

It's actually starting to worry me a little, the intensity of this go-round--it's not the usual stone-cold ennui. Normally I'm not this bad off until after New Year's (well, except for the pity party I throw myself every year in the weeks leading up to my birthday), and, again: that's more of a seasonal apathy-funk. This involves a lot of dread and distress and, at times, actual panic involved. I have to think this is because things are just generally bad around here at the moment, and have been for a good while now. Two different family members are having job-related crises, for example. I'm having performance anxiety in terms of trying to write, I don't have a dependable place to work, I'm just generally very unhappy. But it's taking on a hysterical edge that makes me uncomfortable--I keep having urges to act out in some way. I don't mean harm myself or anyone else; I mean, like, throw a gigantic melodramatic fit du shit. I know I had that minor meltdown where I started throwing shit earlier this summer, but that is the ONLY TIME IN MY LIFE I have ever done anything like that. So I'm not used to having the urge to, like, flounce from the internet for the hell of it or something. And that's why I'm sitting here talking about it so calmly, because I feel like the only way to combat irrationality is with detachment. Take an overview of the thing, recognize what you're doing, shove it into the light of day. So... yeah.

(By the way, laptop has been ordered; money has cleared checking account. It will take about two weeks from November 3rd for Dell to build and ship it, what with the custom art and the crazy-ass 17" facial recognition screen. I don't even know. I spent a ridiculous, extravagant amount of money because I could, and it felt GOOD.)

A little Twi-spam for the hell of it, since Sparklemas is fast approaching:

T-REX, VAMPIRES CAN HAVE KIDS AND LITTLE DINOSAUR VAMPIRES SOUNDS PRETTY CUTE TO ME )


(Zomg e-book! The Annotated Movies in Fifteen Minutes: Wizards!)

Site Meter

So.

Oct. 30th, 2009 11:04 am
cleolinda: (black ribbon5)
I'm having the kind of day where I hope I'm coming down with something, because at least that would explain the tiredness and the general woozy feeling. (Although, also, I hardly slept last night. Not sure why.)

Grey overcast day, although with a nice rain-bearing breeze. I was sitting outside for a while, except that said rain was, in fact, eventually borne in. Cinnamon toast a while ago. Trying to get into drinking hot tea, just because I think it might be comforting, or at least more interesting than iced tea while I'm working. Lady Grey and a vanilla chai so far. I used to drink a lot of herbal tea in college, but I've come to think that I really just like black teas the best. I usually drink iced tea without any lemon or sweetener (although I do like both; I just drink too much to go sweet with it), so I'm used to the taste of the tea itself.

(The cat is totally just snacking away on one of the houseplants in the windowsill.)

I don't know. It's just one of those days where I want to curl up and wallow and do nothing, but I know I don't have time for that.



(Zomg e-book! The Annotated Movies in Fifteen Minutes: Wizards!)

Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
So. Not feeling much better; spent the weekend in a very grim, self-pitying funk. But I'm going back to work ("work") today because you have to move on with life. I think I'm actually going through kind of a post-partum project-completion slump, what with the first e-book finished. The only problem is, I now have to finish the second one, which casts a sort of "Sorry, your princess is in another castle" pall over the whole thing. C'est la vie.

Also, I should probably get on this Twilight tea-tasting thing. (That's our godforsaken vampire-related beverage. I was not lucky enough to get any TruBlood--sadly, because I hear that stuff is actually really good, a blood orange-flavored soda or something.) Question: what's the best way to make hot tea? I usually drink iced tea, so I have no idea--water at an actual boil? Steep for five minutes? I don't even know, and I don't think these things came with instructions. I'm probably going to make all three samples at once and get it over with--swish and spit if it's really awful, I guess. God help us all. But especially me.

Meanwhile, a college friend of mine is a movie critic now, and he announced that he could get me a screener copy of The Twilight Porn (tagline: "When you can fuck forever... you can fuck everybody"). I've never even seen actual hardcore, and I don't think my embarrassment squick could handle starting with this, but I know of someone else who might be willing to take that bullet. We'll see. I know I keep trying Twilight products "for science," but I don't love nobody that much, least of all science. "Twilight porn" is an extremely uncomfortable phrase as it is; these are two words that do not want to be in the same sentence together. Twilight is huddled in the corner weeping, and porn is banging on the quotation marks trying to get out.

Also-also: The Sparkenpire is now available at Toys'R'Us. You can, in fact, see the actual sparkle coating if you zoom in. (It's getting to be the season for Twi-spam, isn't it? I'll corral those into separate entries after this, for convenience of avoidance.) In cheerfuller Barbie developments: Debbie Harry, Cyndi Lauper, and Joan Jett dolls.

(In response to "Hello, my name is Twilight and I am a Dracula": I R not a Dracula!)

And finally: Tour of Terror II dates and locations have been announced. This time it's at various Hot Topics AND Nordstroms! I KNOW YOU ARE EXCITED. (All the replies to my link on Twitter were along the lines of "NOT MY CITY, OH GOD NOOOOOO.") The closest it gets to me is the ATL, which is still too damn close. (I don't know what Atlanta did to deserve this; it already got burnt to the ground once.) Invest in riot gear. You're going to need it.


(Zomg e-book! The Annotated Movies in Fifteen Minutes: Wizards!)

Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
Not doing so well at the moment--I think I'm going through another bad patch. Tearful, depressed, pity party for one, that kind of thing. It could be chemical or hormonal or seasonal or circumstantial or who even knows. I'm still under a good bit of stress at the moment, so I doubt that's helping. It's just something you work through, I guess. The majority of the commentary for Van Helsing and Dracula was written last year, so while it obviously needs freshening and updating, that's a ton of work already behind me. So there's that, at least.


Site Meter
cleolinda: (marie sleep)
So I had a really bad weekend. I couldn't get to the (shared, family) computer either day, it rained the entire time, I spent most of it curled up under the covers moping, so on and so forth. I don't know if it was some kind of hormonal dip or that whole solar-powered thing I have going or what. (I notice that the weekends have been particularly tough lately. I think it's because that's when everyone's home and it's no one person--there's just more people around than there used to be, and on the weekends they're all here. We're all competing for the same physical space and the same resources and I'm so stressed out from the final e-book details dragging on and onnnn--last weekend I was in that foul head-punching mood the whole time, remember? So that may be it.) I ended up pulling out Fraser's Marie Antoinette and using my full-spectrum light as a reading lamp for about half an hour, and then I sat under it again this morning while I checked my email on the iThing and maybe that'll help. Also: cinnamon toast.

And then, a few minutes ago, I received the most delightful flame in the history of Flames I Have Received. Oh my God, it is a thing of beauty and joy and magnificent irony. I'm not even saying this in a LET ME TELL YOU, INTERNETS, HOW VERY MUCH I DO NOT CARE way. I am serious, I actually laughed out loud and clapped. Also, it has been pointed out to me that you must look at the interests (expand the "Connect" section), which are particularly hilarious given the stories I tend to tell. I just--seriously. Beauty and delight.


Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
Okay. Today was also pretty bad, but I think I'm going to be all right. At various points in my hormonal cycle, there are days when I feel like I could lead a revolution... and there are days when I can't deal with a papercut. I think last week had a few of the latter. (Honestly, I should just know by now that any instance of a mental No One Will Ever Love Meeeeee pity party = automatic Papercut Day and and should be disregarded in its entirety as such.) So. Things not going great, but I feel less overwhelmed.

A few interesting things:

"In before copious whining about how LJ operating like a business stifles their freedom," or, LiveJournal will now let you put Google ads (and profit from them) on your own journal. A lot of people have asked if I could do this or encouraged me to do so (back then, I said I was pretty sure you couldn't). I still don't know about it, though. If it pisses people off (and believe me, there are tons of people on the internets who accept sites that always used ads but flip the hell out when other sites start using them, omg hdu sell out, etc.)--losing your readership for a short-term gain is a long-term financial risk, if you look at it that way. How much money do you actually make off these things? Would it even be worth it?

Meanwhile, my New Moon recap has been quoted twice in Twilight and Philosophy (see "search inside this book" and put in "cleolinda"). SUCK IT, WIKIPEDIA, I AM NOTABLE.

(Actually, looking at the page on me, I believe the "Tiny Things, Tiny Minds" review linked at the bottom--is that the one where I was partially blamed for the imminent fall of Western civilization? Because I considered putting that on my resume. For real.)

Speaking of the sparkle,

@cleolinda: Interesting New Moon shots. Fantasy forest sequence what what? http://tinyurl.com/l3sen6

Hey, I nearly bought that bedspread last summer. Decided it kind of clashed with the wolves, though.

@cleolinda: Also, pictures seem to indicate that Taylor Lautner will not be wearing a shirt at any time, at all, ever. He may be allergic, in fact.


Meanwhile, I have another new story idea, but it feels more like a book series and I don't know if I have the mental resources for that right now. Maybe it's one of those that I just end up tucking away (on the "story farm," as I think of it) for later.



Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
So I might as well tell you that I didn't post the new Secret Life because things are better; they're worse. I posted it because if I waited for things to get better, I might never post again. I made do with the LJ site's update page (there's more formatting than for my average LJ post) and pictures from my phone instead of my camera--the family computer is healthy but old, only 30GB of storage and I don't even know what the memory's like. I don't want to download all my pet programs because I'm not sure how many of them this computer could handle, if any. So I'm just doing the best I can with what I've got. It's got Word and the internet and that's enough to do my e-book footnotes.

(Please don't send me video links, for whatever reason. There's a lot of things I can't get to work on this computer, so there's just no point. I'm sorry.)

Basically, I've been staving off panic attacks. I haven't had a purely stress-induced panic attack in years--the other one I had was because I was in a very small space with constant ear-splitting noise (read: a club with a loud band), but that kind of thing just happens. All I know is, I've spent the last two or three days feeling this tightness in my chest and shoulders and wanting to throw up--I don't think this is going to make sense, but--it's not a physical feeling. It's not an upset stomach, it's not literal chest pains. It's an emotional feeling in a physical location. I can't explain it better than that.

I think a big part of my problem is that I'm a champion worrier, and I immediately leap to the worst-case scenario--I convince myself it's inevitable. If we have potential (potential!) financial problems, OMFG WE ARE GOING TO LOSE THE HOUSE. A family argument = ARMAGEDDON. So, I mean... a lot of that is something I have to consciously work on, if I recognize that I'm doing it. (I did go see my doctor last week, and we did talk about this. That, and staying out of other people's conflicts, and refusing if necessary to be involved.)

So. Anyway. I don't know. I'm just trying to get my not-stomach upset and my not-muscle tightness to calm down long enough to let me focus and work.

And just so this entry isn't unrelentingly grim, here's a picture of the downstairs office--set up by my parents for if/when they have to work on the weekends--where I work now. The black and white tote bag on the left is mine, for hauling my drafts and flash drive and headphones and what-all up and down and all around the house.



Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
So yesterday I got absolutely zero work done because my dogs spent all morning barking hysterically at stove repair people. The two guys themselves were nice; they've been out to our house a total of three times to install a new range for us (and I'll have to take a picture of it; it's totally space-age awesome and... a bit difficult to cook on, but we're learning). And then, right as they were finishing up, the lead guy tells me (sounding very apologetic and embarrassed, by the way) that... they need to charge us an extra $85 just for coming out there. Which he doesn't think is fair (particularly since no one told us this ahead of time), but his boss is kind of riding him to collect it.

Dear Reader, I just started laughing at them. I mean honestly just laughing in their faces. And then I dialed a number on my cell and said (and I quote), "Here's the phone, talk to my mother. And GOOD LUCK."

By the time she was done calling around, she'd discovered from the Sears rep that there is no such thing as a "trip charge," and that the stove guys' boss (head of the installation company/department) must be scamming customers as a way of skimming off the top. SHENANIGANS!

Meanwhile, my meds--and I'll go into this for future reference for anyone who might be trying Lamictal: My God almighty, let me never experience that again )


Site Meter
cleolinda: (twilight)
Okay, so: the mania was getting so unpleasant (and let me repeat, it was a physical sense of being overcaffeinated; I was otherwise completely calm and non-crazy) that I broke down and started my new, slightly higher dose of Lamictal. Things seem to be gradually calming down. Of course, side effects include back pain and stomach upset (both of which have already set in), so that's fantastic.

Also, I got three packages in the mail today and I have no idea who they're from, and thus no way to contact anyone, thank them (thank you!) and let them know that things arrived. So: 1) witch hazel/rose toner, received; 2) Neutrogena conditioner, received; 3) soap and conditioner mask from Lush, received. (Again, thank you!)

Still truckin' in the Comedy Mines. Might be done with things this weekend, I don't know.

Meanwhile: two-part video of the New Moon panel; the best, snarkiest writeup I've seen ("I can’t wait to take part in the Caesarian"); leaked clips, get 'em while they're hot. (Summit's taking them down as they find them, so I won't be able to repost them if they go down. Short version: Ghostly Edward appears, Bella wipes out on a bike, BLATANT JACOB FAN SERVICE; yellow Porsche, Bella runs, 6000 women scream at Shirtless Edward. As McRachel and I were discussing, it's like porno for pre-teens.) (Also, God bless Chris Weitz, I am totally in platonic unscary movie-fan love with him.)

Also-also: Tonner Edward's "Hungry" double (via [livejournal.com profile] annlarimer); The Sparkenpire in the wild. Maybe I'll get one as a chew toy for the Ellowynes for Christmas.


Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
So. First of all, I did manage to get some sleep last night, although I woke up a few times, and I was BOLT AWAKE at 7 am again. You take what you can get. I did spend most of yesterday feeling like I'd downed a quart of espresso, and loud/sudden/vehement noise (such as someone venting about the guys hired to fix the brickwork, Mom) was irrationally upsetting, but--I want you to know that this isn't really "mania" as severe as a lot of people have it, or what the popular conception of bipolar mania might be. It is very, very mild, and while it could get worse over the long run--I didn't used to have it at all, after all--talking about it here is part of how I keep an eye on that. It's unpleasant the way insomnia might be unpleasant, or--again, the "too much coffee" metaphor (I don't even drink coffee). It's unpleasant, but it's not life- or sanity-threatening. In fact, I did record a new HBP-themed Made of Fail podcast last night, and (probably by this weekend) you'll be able to hear that I sound completely calm and together and no wackier than usual. I think I laughed a bit loud a few times, but then, I've always had something of a parrot laugh.

Meanwhile--I've been wanting to say something about this, but I want to tread carefully because I understand that most of y'all really, really do not mean to upset me; it is really, truly meant in fun. But: since I started writing about Twilight for various reasons, I've started getting responses and emails and comments from people of a nature that I really didn't get when it was just Harry Potter or Lost or Phantom of the Opera or whatever. People have told me that I'm their soulmate and they want to stalk me and watch me sleep, so on and so forth, [*insert rocking chair joke here*]; I mean, people are being funny, they don't mean it--I understand that, I really do.

The problem is that I've gotten communications from some people who did. And I didn't want to mention it because, for your own safety, you don't want to draw attention to that kind of thing and validate anything dangerous in someone's mind--but really, I haven't gotten anything malicious or threatening, it isn't that. It's mostly people I feel a lot of sympathy for, some of them telling me in all sincerity that they're obsessed with Twilight, I am the only person in their life who understands them, I am the only person they can trust, I must be their soulmate, can they call me on the phone, they just want to hear my voice. I mean, verifiably more than one person asking me this, some of them a bit... insistently. In fact, I feel fairly certain that I got tricked into doing a "podcast"--with someone who had no show plan, no questions, no topics--vanished afterwards and never posted a finished product, never even contacted me again. Just so he could spend three hours talking to me? I don't know.

Here's the reason why I'm telling you this: six months ago, I might have thought "I want to sit in the corner of your room and watch you write" (this is a made-up example statement, no one said this) was funny. Now, it's just upsetting, because even if I can tell that you are clearly joking, it makes me think of the people who aren't. I get that when you say you want to sniff my hair you're totally joking via a satirical parallel to Edward and Bella or the way fans mistreat the actors, but--guys, I kind of have reason to believe there are people who might actually want to sniff my hair, and it freaks me out. (And y'all, my hair doesn't even smell that great.) So--I'm just telling you, I can totally see why Twilight stalking jokes would be funny, and there's no way for you to know that they upset me if I don't tell you. And it is genuinely no one person doing this, either end of it, because no one person would leave me permanently spooked like this. It's a small number of people wanting something from me that I can't give them and a larger number of very sweet, well-meaning people joking around. But taken as a whole, particularly since I journaled here for five years almost entirely without incident and then it all started up after the Twilight recaps--I don't even know. I mean, don't apologize for anything you've said, there's no need for that, because I knew y'all were kidding and you couldn't have known. I'm just telling you now so that you do.


Site Meter
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 11:22 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios