cleolinda: (katniss)
(I'm pretty good with watching it all come in over the wire from my air-conditioned bedroom, though.)

This is by no means exhaustive, because if I wasn't around on Twitter at the time or wasn't interested, it would have slipped past me. At this point, I would just say go browse Social Nerd Art's archive or SDCC tag, or The Mary Sue's tag, if there's something you're interested in.

FIRST OF ALL:



Then, UNEXPECTED LOKI )


Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
The new Made of Fail is up, wherein Dayna, George, J.D. DeMotte and I discuss The Dark Knight Rises. And Kitten War.

Meanwhile, [personal profile] foresthouse interviewed me for Comicmix on the subject of comic book movies, on a topic also brought up on the show: So, fan who doesn't read comics, how do comic-book movies actually work out for you? Basically, I'm an excellent interview, if by "excellent" you mean "never, ever shuts up." I think this time we are presenting it as a feature, not a bug.

Also, there is a new James Bond trailer. This is important. There is nothing better than what happens at 2:16. That said, I'm not sure why Javier Bardem's hair can't ever have nice things.


P.S. You remember Prometheus in Fifteen Minutes, and that particular moment when I was like, "The Adventures of [Spoiler and Spoiler's Spoiler in a Spoiler]: I'd watch it"? IT'S GOING TO HAPPEN. \;;;/



Site Meter
cleolinda: (galadriel03)
I don't really know how to talk about this. I don't want to talk about--I don't have words for what this guy is, or what he did, to children. As a writer, I'm fascinated by the psychology of crime and why people do things--and how other people respond to that. However, I don't want to talk about it. I don't want to feed this guy's fire. As far as I'm concerned, his name is July 20-2012 and he deserves nothing. Nothing but due process, and then a dark hole somewhere, whether that hole is a hospital or a prison--the darkness of being forgotten by history. If you want to know about it, as I want to know about it and try to not want to know about it, there's Wikipedia and cnn.com and pretty much every other news source in the world.

If this were almost any other movie, I would just quietly not talk about the film itself at all, I guess. I mean, I see movies now and then that I like well enough, but get too busy to ever really comment on or post a discussion entry for. But I hate that this had to be the movie haunted by this awfulness. This is a movie where the hero explicitly says "NO GUNS," takes guns away from people and takes them apart and throws the pieces away. These are movies about fighting crime and corruption, about believing in the good in people, about fighting fear, about hoping to set an example for others and then inspire them to continue that example, about hope itself. I don't say that as a starry-eyed fangirl; you could actually criticize the movies for being a little too on-the-nose about that, with all the Significant Thematic Dialogue that gets repeated over and over, if you wanted to. Sitting here today, I'm kind of glad now that the movies are so explicit with those themes. This is not "edgy" controversial cinema trying to glamorize nihilism. If you came out of any of these movies thinking that the villains are the way forward, you were not paying attention. Whether you think the movies do these themes well or not, they are pretty much about the EXACT OPPOSITE of what happened early Friday morning, and I hate that pundits are on the "news" sitting around talking about the Curse of the Dark Knight Movies and whether they're part of a CULTURE OF GRIMDARKNESS OMG that is bringing down American society. Because The Dark Knight Rises is pretty much the direct opposite of that.

Mild not-really spoilers )

As uncomfortable as some of the scenes might be now, I recommend it anyway, if you go in thinking about everything I just told you--both the overall themes and the hints that won't make sense until it's over. If you don't want to see The Dark Knight Rises because, as superhero movies go, it's too realistic or too grim (you might be surprised by the time you leave), go see The Avengers again or The Amazing Spider-Man or any of the many, many movies about anything else out there. Don't go if you don't feel safe, of course. But July 20 is probably in a holding cell somewhere gloating that he's got the entire country's attention and he's got their fear and that makes him ~powerful,~ this ignominious waste of oxygen who apparently was so smart, and had so many gifts, and yet couldn't think of anything better in the world to do with them than this. If I can work it out with our collective schedule this weekend, since I can't drive, I'm going to see the movie again tomorrow. Police are watching various movie theaters across the country, and I hear that we've got them at Birmingham theaters, too. I wanted to see the movie twice anyway, but I'll be damned if I'll let this absolute stain think he's achieved anything as far as I have anything to say about it. There is an achievement here, the achievement of people who used their gifts and worked hard to create a story that could mean something good to people, and it's not his.

I know that people who did see the movie want to discuss it and maybe don't have anywhere else to--if you're up to it, you can here, and there will be spoilers running wild and free in the comments.

If there is the LEAST WHIFF of anyone being awful, either regarding what happened Friday or the fanboy ridiculousness earlier this week, I will freeze and/or ban whoever I have to and we will move on with discussion like you never even existed. My longtimers will tell you, I am extremely tolerant of good-faith critical discussion and I do not trifle with anything else. This time, you get one "everyone play nice" warning. If you raise my blood pressure in any way, you get a one-week cool-your-heels ban. If you talk shit like you think you're a big bad flame warrior, I will send you straight to the cornfield. As y'all have recently seen, my patience is substantial but not infinite, and we are not having that Rotten Tomatoes bullshit here. Not this weekend.



Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
I have a ton of catching up to do, but I slipped into a research/rewrite/productivity rabbit hole and didn't want to come out for a few days. So, here is several days' worth of linkspam, although I tried to stick to the essentials: Read more... )


I cut several news items for time (space?), but I'll see if I can't work them into the next spam, assuming one happens in a timely fashion.



Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
I have a ton of catching up to do, but I slipped into a research/rewrite/productivity rabbit hole and didn't want to come out for a few days. So, here is several days' worth of linkspam, although I tried to stick to the essentials: Read more... )

I cut several news items for time (space?), but I'll see if I can't work them into the next spam, assuming one happens in a timely fashion.



Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
A linkspam that has been THREE DAYS IN THE MAKING.


@bathbomb: Also, today I did a little sketch of @cleolinda. This is what she looks like in my head.

@cleolinda: @bathbomb Other than the fact that I'm about twice as wide, it's actually pretty good.

@foresthouse: @cleolinda You look like that in my head too. Except there is a Pallas cat grumping over your shoulder.

@cleolinda: @foresthouse Considering that you've seen me in person, the likeness must be impressive.

@foresthouse: @cleolinda Well, okay, actually I confess that in my head you have purple hair, and no amount of seeing you IRL can change that. :P


Linkspam! Read more... )




Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
A linkspam that has been THREE DAYS IN THE MAKING.


@bathbomb: Also, today I did a little sketch of @cleolinda. This is what she looks like in my head.

@cleolinda: @bathbomb Other than the fact that I'm about twice as wide, it's actually pretty good.

@foresthouse: @cleolinda You look like that in my head too. Except there is a Pallas cat grumping over your shoulder.

@cleolinda: @foresthouse Considering that you've seen me in person, the likeness must be impressive.

@foresthouse: @cleolinda Well, okay, actually I confess that in my head you have purple hair, and no amount of seeing you IRL can change that. :P


Linkspam! Read more... )




Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
Before we get to movie news: a few updates on the Norway situation.

@BreakingNews: Norwegian police revise death toll in Utoya youth camp massacre down to 68 from 86; @REUTERSFLASH: Norwegian police say at least 100,000 people take part in Oslo march in support of attack victims; Norway killer claims he had help; manifesto outlined plans to attack writers & lit professors; @krazycat/[livejournal.com profile] krazycat: New blog post: Oslo - reflection and tears. And from [livejournal.com profile] gryster:

Just a small message from Norway:

There was a march of roses in Oslo today. It is the most beautiful reaction I have ever seen. The actual marching bit was cancelled because there was SO MANY PEOPLE. People were asked to leave their roses all over the city, and they really did. All of downtown Oslo was just covered with roses.

There's a link here. There's a slideslow at the top, with pictures from all over the country. I just wanted to show you this, (and ask you to share it) because I'm guessing it won't necessarily be shown on American TV. It was a beautiful thing to be a part of.




Movie news. Read more... )




Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
Before we get to movie news: a few updates on the Norway situation.

@BreakingNews: Norwegian police revise death toll in Utoya youth camp massacre down to 68 from 86; @REUTERSFLASH: Norwegian police say at least 100,000 people take part in Oslo march in support of attack victims; Norway killer claims he had help; manifesto outlined plans to attack writers & lit professors; @krazycat/[livejournal.com profile] krazycat: New blog post: Oslo - reflection and tears. And from [livejournal.com profile] gryster:

Just a small message from Norway:

There was a march of roses in Oslo today. It is the most beautiful reaction I have ever seen. The actual marching bit was cancelled because there was SO MANY PEOPLE. People were asked to leave their roses all over the city, and they really did. All of downtown Oslo was just covered with roses.

There's a link here. There's a slideslow at the top, with pictures from all over the country. I just wanted to show you this, (and ask you to share it) because I'm guessing it won't necessarily be shown on American TV. It was a beautiful thing to be a part of.




Movie news. Read more... )




Site Meter
cleolinda: (galadriel helpful)
Harry Potter is the Biggest Worldwide Debut Ever with $476M. That is to say, nearly half a billion dollars, blowing through the Eclipse midnight record, the New Moon opening day record, and the Dark Knight weekend record. From what I've seen of Comments on the Interwebs, Twilight fans and Batman fans are united in shouting YEAH WELL WAIT TILL OUR LAST MOVIE COMES OUT, and then they realize they're on the same side and run away to wash that icky fanboy/girl off. Whatever helps you sleep at night, kids.

Guillermo Del Toro and Emma Watson for Beauty and the Beast?; David Yates reveals his next project PP (post-Potter) (whoa, The Stand?); How Harry Potter Changed Publishing (three words: midnight release parties); 10 great, and 10 no-so-great, things about Harry Potter. And here's our discussion post, with a--well, not a defense, but an alternate take on the epilogue. Also:

@bestforfilm: We're opening a bar called Harry Shotters. Drinks include Margaritaskeeters, Cedric Daquiris, Mojicho Changs... #harrypotterdrinks

Concoctions include Pinot Gringotts, Episkey Sours, Mudbloody Marys, Blast Ended Skrewtdriver, Hex on the Beach, Ginny and Tonic, Ron and Coke, Creme De Menter, and my favorite, Madame Hooch.

Since y'all have waited ever so patiently, let's skip straight to TheOneRing.net Exclusive: Behold! Thorin Oakenshield and Orcrist! BEHOLD! )


Site Meter
cleolinda: (galadriel helpful)
I'm not saying I'll be able to keep up a steady stream of linkspam posts; I'm just saying I'm going to try.

Ah, the hot dwarves. )



Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
Okay, more housekeeping.

The new layout: For those of you just joining us, the goal was to make the layout, particularly the comment posting boxes, more accessible to anyone with visual impairment. I threw "November Day" up here just to have something clean and legible for the Oscar liveblog, but... now I actually like it. I went through every single other layout LJ offers, tested more than a dozen of them full-size, and kept coming back to this one. In fact, I don't even think I want to go back to Component now; it looks cluttered and small in comparison. Problem: This layout does not have an option to change any of the colors. So we're staying with it in teal for this week, and then foresthouse and I are going to work on the CSS code over the weekend and shift all the hex codes to purple hues. I had a few people who said they liked the teal better (if it weren't an issue of persona, I'd actually be perfectly happy with it myself), but I also had people who were touchingly distraught at my non-purple existence. So we'll at least see what it looks like changed, live, so we can tweak it. Here's what a screencap of the current layout looks like with the hue shifted in Photoshop and lightened/desaturated a bit, both a warm purple and a cool purple:

POLL TIME )


On the upside, my parents are both down for the count with a third iteration of Death Blarg, but somehow, I have managed to dodge it this time. I am hoping that better health and weather will lead to an improved awesomosity forecast.

That said, we had a freak hailstorm yesterday:


Here's what fell out of the sky on Twitpic

A quick linkspam: Read more... )



Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
Okay, more housekeeping.

The new layout: For those of you just joining us, the goal was to make the layout, particularly the comment posting boxes, more accessible to anyone with visual impairment. I threw "November Day" up here just to have something clean and legible for the Oscar liveblog, but... now I actually like it. I went through every single other layout LJ offers, tested more than a dozen of them full-size, and kept coming back to this one. In fact, I don't even think I want to go back to Component now; it looks cluttered and small in comparison. Problem: This layout does not have an option to change any of the colors. So we're staying with it in teal for this week, and then foresthouse and I are going to work on the CSS code over the weekend and shift all the hex codes to purple hues. I had a few people who said they liked the teal better (if it weren't an issue of persona, I'd actually be perfectly happy with it myself), but I also had people who were touchingly distraught at my non-purple existence. So we'll at least see what it looks like changed, live, so we can tweak it. Here's what a screencap of the current layout looks like with the hue shifted in Photoshop and lightened/desaturated a bit, both a warm purple and a cool purple:

POLL TIME )


On the upside, my parents are both down for the count with a third iteration of Death Blarg, but somehow, I have managed to dodge it this time. I am hoping that better health and weather will lead to an improved awesomosity forecast.

That said, we had a freak hailstorm yesterday:


Here's what fell out of the sky on Twitpic

A quick linkspam: Read more... )




Site Meter
cleolinda: (onoz)
In case you missed it: The Secret Life of Dolls (the Dire Capybara seems to have been a big hit).

I'm still mulling over That Which We Do Not Speak Of, which we might as well Speak Of because we all know I'm doing it. There's basically two movie franchises that I'm locked into until the bitter end, and Harry Potter is one of them. The problem is that the first Deathly Hallows movie is pretty serious without being mock-worthily srs bsns, so I'm having trouble with it. However, I think I have found--not a gimmick, exactly, but an angle to approach it from.

Meanwhile, we had a lot of fun recording the podcast on Saturday. Since he mentioned it too, I'll go ahead and say that Mark (who is now Reading The Hunger Games) was our guest. I was the Temporary Guest Hosting for Dayna, which was a lot of fun, but I don't think there's any danger of anyone wanting me as a permanent replacement; it's like having two kinds of salt on the table instead of salt and pepper. ANYWAY MY POINT IS not to make you think it'll be a boring show, my point is GET EXCITE.

The title of this entry, by the way, refers to this:

It's really happening: Warner Brothers reboots Buffy The Vampire Slayer without Joss Whedon [Please God No]. "Details of the film are being kept under wraps, but I can say while this is not your high school Buffy, she'll be just as witty, tough, and sexy as we all remember her to be." Have the riots started yet?

The rest of the linkspam? Is all Grade A.

Read more... )



Site Meter
cleolinda: (black ribbon5)
I am having a Not Good Day--not quite a Bad Day, but definitely Not Good--for no particular reason at all. I've spent the entire day feeling aimlessly pitiful and wanting to cry. Mostly, I stare at an open Word document for several minutes at a stretch, then check on my Godfinger All-Stars phone app.




Mostly, I like to grow flowers and watch my tiny pixel people catch fish. It's very soothing. They just fish and fish and fiiiiish. My followers are now building me a spooky mansion. It was very expensive and takes three hours to build. I'm really looking forward to seeing how this turns out.

I... I need help.

Linkspam! Read more... )



Site Meter
cleolinda: (spooky03)
So. As far as I know, both of my grandmothers are stable.

Marie Claire is a bunch of jackasses who apparently set their "provocative blogger" up to fail for the page views.

And lo, the internet rose up as one and smote them thus.

Pallas cats playing in jack-o'-lanterns make me feel better. (Thanks, @giishu.)

I was able to put up the third signed copy of Movies in Fifteen Minutes for auction, and I am considering doing 1) a Year of Postcards from me, 2) a year from The Littlest Edward, because (as we all know), he is craftsy, and 3) a year from Galadriel, who would be able to drop dark hints about future Secret Life developments.

New Made of Fail episode: It Gets Better. I've just started listening to it, but it seems to be partly about this month's national bullying dialogue, if you will, and the horror genre for Halloween. Note: their January episode just went for $500 at the [profile] foresthouseeyes auction. I don't even know.

Also, you need a plush Wizard of Oz monkey in your life.


HEY LET'S HAVE SOME ACTUAL LINKSPAM.

Read more... )



Site Meter 
cleolinda: (spooky03)
So. As far as I know, both of my grandmothers are stable.

Marie Claire is a bunch of jackasses who apparently set their "provocative blogger" up to fail for the page views.

And lo, the internet rose up as one and smote them thus.

Pallas cats playing in jack-o'-lanterns make me feel better. (Thanks, @giishu.)

I was able to put up the third signed copy of Movies in Fifteen Minutes for auction, and I am considering doing 1) a Year of Postcards from me, 2) a year from The Littlest Edward, because (as we all know), he is craftsy, and 3) a year from Galadriel, who would be able to drop dark hints about future Secret Life developments.

New Made of Fail episode: It Gets Better. I've just started listening to it, but it seems to be partly about this month's national bullying dialogue, if you will, and the horror genre for Halloween. Note: their January episode just went for $500 at the [livejournal.com profile] foresthouseeyes auction. I don't even know.

Also, you need a plush Wizard of Oz monkey in your life.


HEY LET'S HAVE SOME ACTUAL LINKSPAM.

Read more... )



Site Meter 

So...

Oct. 13th, 2010 06:02 pm
cleolinda: (galadriel mist)
As a follow-up on yesterday, since I don't think things are going to get any better--what I'm sad about is that my grandmother's mental and physical health took a steep downturn this past weekend. There are some other problems as well, emotional and/or financial; I've started having mild panic attacks again. And [livejournal.com profile] foresthouse--she's a longtimer around here, you may recognize her. She's one of my closest friends and my agent now as well. And she's going to have to have a really expensive trial surgery on both eyes--it was that or a double corneal transplant--at the end of the month, and I keep thinking, if I'd finished something to sell by now, we'd have money to pay for it. But I haven't. So we don't. So.

That said, I got 14 pages of a 25-page chapter cleaned up and revised today.

So... now that I've totally brought the room down...

...big casting news for three or four major movies in the linkspam: Read more... )



Site Meter
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 07:22 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios