cleolinda: (serafina)
Okay, I want to run an experiment here. But first, a semi-unrelated explanation:

It's a personality test! Everyone loves personality tests! )

ETA: "Hey, you know those Myers-Briggs tests?"

MY MOTHER: "YES!"

"Wow, okay. So I took one again, I'd forgotten what I was, and I'm an INFP."

MY MOTHER: "YOU ARE SO AN INFP."

"See? I'm saying."

"I AM AN ENTJ! I am like the epitome of an ENTJ. And that's why I work in HR."

"Oh, well. Okay then."



 
Site Meter
cleolinda: (serafina)
Okay, I want to run an experiment here. But first, a semi-unrelated explanation:

It's a personality test! Everyone loves personality tests! )

ETA: "Hey, you know those Myers-Briggs tests?"

MY MOTHER: "YES!"

"Wow, okay. So I took one again, I'd forgotten what I was, and I'm an INFP."

MY MOTHER: "YOU ARE SO AN INFP."

"See? I'm saying."

MY MOTHER: "I AM AN ENTJ! I am like the epitome of an ENTJ. And that's why I work in HR."

"Oh, well. Okay then."



 
Site Meter
cleolinda: (pallas cat - chagrin)
Before I start whining, let me give you an update on my mother. Her knee replacement surgery went wonderfully, it seems, and she was texting me by the early afternoon. I mean epic, multi-paragraph texts. Texts, linkspam, booze, and a poll )


ETA: I'm on the phone with Mom now, and she says she sat up in her bed, put in her contacts, put on her makeup, and painted her nails. YOU CAN ONLY HOPE TO CONTAIN HER.


Site Meter
cleolinda: (lolcat)
Okay, I gotta ask. For years, I had the linkspam links coded so that they would open automatically in a new window or tab. (It's a matter of checking off a box in Semagic, or writing "target=blank" into the code; it's extremely easy to do or undo.) But then, either last year or the year before, a few people asked me to stop, and I think someone even said it was one of the worst things or least reader-friendly things you could do, I can't remember the specific wording. So, properly horrified, I stopped. Well, now I've got a few people asking me to make them open automatically in new tabs/windows again. (I think also that tabbed browsing is a lot more common than it was two years ago; back then, the code was actually forcing entire new windows to open if you didn't have "open in tab, not window" selected somewhere.)

So here's my question: what would people actually prefer today? Just to check the mood of the room.

[Poll #1387311]

ETA: Judging from the comments, most people seem to do what I do--which is right-click and manually open links in new tabs anyway. (I like opening them in foreground tabs so that by the time I go through and read the new links, the page content has loaded.) After that, people seem divided, so it looks like I'll stay with the links the way they are, no new tabs, because while I feel like new tabs are more beneficial to me as a blogger trying to keep you on this page, if I code links to open in new tabs, people can't choose for that not to happen. And I think you can also open links in a new tab by holding down ctrl when you click on them. So there's that.


Site Meter

The Reveal

Apr. 14th, 2009 06:17 am
cleolinda: (galadriel doll)
THE DAY HAS COME.

So, as you may recall, I had a package coming my way. Except that it didn't. I bitched about the delay--something like a week, I'm not even sure--on Twitter, as you do, and then! Thomas the UPS Dude who read my Twilight recaps rode in on Twitter to save the day! The Brown SWAT was called in! Intel was decrypted! A dark and stormy day: THE PACKAGE ARRIVED.



And then I didn't tell you what was in it for two weeks.

The Company from which The Package was sent (and to whose warehouse it got bounced back) was also as helpful as you could possibly hope for. This, for example, is one of the emails they sent:

Of course, we will do whatever we can here on our end... please let me know...

Gosh, your poor Edward has been very well traveled!!

Keep me posted...

[Tonner representative]

"OH MY GOD, LOOK AT YOU."

"Most women do. I'm tired of it, really."




I THINK IT IS TIME FOR A POLL )


Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
So Prison Break has been canceled. This is my mother's second favorite TV show (I promise you, if the Jack Bauer Power Hour had been axed, you would have heard the rending of her garments from the other side of the globe). I emailed her the bad news, and I got this in reply:
Oh nooooooooooooooooooooooo……………….. That was really one of the best series, but I was wondering what else they could do. Hopefully, Michael and Sara can be together and Lincoln and Michael will be exonerated and the bitch will get hers!
Bless.

Meanwhile, at [livejournal.com profile] snacky's: When you get into new fandoms, is it because you discover the source material first or because you follow other fans? I say this in Snacky's comments, but--I realized that I follow actors, not fans. I mean, great watershed moments in Cleo Fannishness: "I kinda got bored with Lord of the Rings when I was twelve, but if Her Cateness is doing it, well..." "Alan Rickman at a wizard school? I gotta read this book." "Well, I mean... I know it looks stupid, but it's Hugh Jackman and vampires, so..." "Johnny Depp's in a movie based on a theme park ride?" "Dude, that hobbit guy got a big American TV show?" "Cedric Diggory's a vampire?"

So, you know: go weigh in, and stuff.

Moar linkspam )


Site Meter
cleolinda: (twilight)
I checked comment notification emails in the middle of the night (what? I get up for a drink of water a lot) and saw this: "I just needed to tell somebody-- I live down the block from a movie theatre...and I can hear them screaming from my house...they just keep screaming!"

THIS is the sparkling? )

So my mother's shouting up the stairs, as she usually does right before she leaves work, you know, anything she feels the need to tell me before she leaves ("THE PLUMBER GUY SAYS HE WILL BE HERE BETWEEN EIGHT AND FIVE, OH, AND SCOUT'S THROWING UP AGAIN"), so today she shouts, "THEY JUST HAD SOMETHING ABOUT TWILIGHT ON FOX AND FRIENDS." Hey! I thought we agreed you weren't going to watch Fox News anymore! "THE GUY? THE GUY EVERYONE'S GOING CRAZY OVER?" I should stop here and say that last night she saw him on Access Hollywood last night and blurted out, "He looks like a greaser! What a waste!" (If she calls you a "greaser," just go on home. There's nothing more she's going to have to do with you. Also, apparently it's the '50s.) But this morning, she has had a change of heart: "HE KINDA LOOKS LIKE JOHNNY DEPP." What? "YOU KNOW, WITH THE NOT WASHING." Snerk. "THE WAY PEOPLE ARE GOING CRAZY OVER HIM, IT'S KIND OF LIKE HARRISON FORD AS INDIANA JONES OR JOHNNY DEPP AS JACK SPARROW. IT'S NOT HIM, IT'S THE CHARACTER." Well-spotted! Except... oh God, she just related Robert Pattinson and/or Edward to the two movie characters she is obsessed with. "I KINDA... WANT TO SEE IT NOW." This is the beginning of the end, y'all.

No review links, because I've already given you a couple of resources for those. On with the Twi-spam: I'm here for Edward, and I hope you don't ruin the movie )

Place your bets, place your final bets:

[Poll #1301494]
ETA: Warning, there may be spoilers discussed in the comments.

ETA 2: From [livejournal.com profile] dramaturgca: San Francisco riot survivor wins The Vampire Volvo on Tyra after a pie-eating contest while Robert Pattinson and Taylor Lautner watch in disbelief. I just keep sitting here reading this over and over going, "What? What?"


Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
Just got back this red hot second from Quantum of Solace. Can't talk now. Still trying to figure out what the hell happened through most of it ("I have a suitcase? Do you want it? Make me an offer? I'm a geologist? I'm not a geologist? Was I supposed to kill you? Are you going to kill me? Who's that guy? Why hasn't he killed you yet? Look, whatever, call me. \m/ "). Will discuss later.

(Also, we got every trailer in the world EXCEPT Watchmen. *shakes fist at sky*)

Hey, polls are fun! Why don't y'all play with one that I wrote before I left while I go figure out what the hell Quantum of Solace was about, other than "My vengeful manpain, let me show you it it's pretty hot, I think you'll like it"? Let me give you a little background on each question first, though:

1) Quantum of Solace made $70 million this weekend ($70,000,036, now that we've seen it), a record for a Bond movie. By comparison, The Dark Knight made something like $158 million its first weekend, but keep in mind that they were showing it around the damn clock--I saw it at 9 am that Saturday--and also, it was the summer. And the economy hadn't completely tanked yet. (ETA: Take the Dark Knight number as "money that Twilight could not possibly make." So we have "really really good for a November weekend" and "no way in hell," those are the numbers I'm giving you.)

(As a side note, a Twilight/Robert Pattinson feature ran in the A&E supplement of our Sunday paper this morning. The title? "The dark knight." I SEE WHAT YOU DID THERE.)

2) There's a premiere in LA tomorrow. Apparently they'll be handing out fan wristbands (oh God) at noon, but I'm unclear on when the movie actually starts. And the wristbands may be just for people to stand next to the red carpet and scream. Regardless of who actually is sitting in that theater when the movie runs, even if it's just industry types, I think there is a certain eventuality we can definitely count on.

Remember: place your bets realistically. E-cookies and bragging rights are at stake here.

[Poll #1298650]

Site Meter
cleolinda: (twilight)
Let's go ahead and post what I've got, shall we? I'd rather sleep in tomorrow.

The Moviefone Unscripted interview with Pattinson, Stewart and Meyer is live. And it's exactly as awkward as you might expect. I'm dying to know what part Kristen Stewart got that she can't talk about yet, though. (ETA: East of Eden?) Also: "Do your best sexy face." "... I don't want to saturate the market." And scroll down the side menu for three or four little thirty-second outtakes, blah.

And then, near the end, he FINALLY loses his shit )

You know what? People talking about whether they're going to see the movie--and in what spirit they're going--has made me wonder. I THINK IT'S TIME FOR ANOTHER POLL!

[Poll #1297729]

Site Meter

*twitch*

Nov. 2nd, 2008 02:48 pm
cleolinda: (marie sleep)
Just a little bit of linkspam, because I am tired and my eyelid is still jumping and it looks like it's going to be good for me to take an entire weekend off (no, the recap for last week's True Blood is still not ready):

Why was Terrence Howard booted from 'Iron Man 2'? "Hollywood insiders believe the exit stems from Terrence Howard's difficult behavior on the set of Iron Man. But those with intimate knowledge of the situation suggest a far more dramatic backstory: Howard was the first actor signed to the film and, on top of that, was the highest-paid. That's right: more than Gwyneth Paltrow. More than Jeff Bridges. More than Robert Downey Jr." I cannot even fathom that. At all.

A little Twilight--and here's why I'm addicted to Twilight (or its fandom, or the general phenomenon, or something), y'all: I was in a terrible mood last night, and then I heard that Edward will have THE SKIN OF A KILLER (NO, BELLA, DON'T TOUCH ME, I AM A MONSTER, WHY JUST LAST WEEK I BROKE EMMETT'S STEREO) and then I laughed and I felt much better. Also: leaks from the soundtrack (I wouldn't feel right just putting the whole thing up a free-for-all download, but... yeah, I do have it, thanks to everyone who offered to send it); Love, Pain and the Vampire Thing at the (unexpectedly snarky) NYT; more TOUR OF TERROR carnage: Pattinson and Hardwicke to appear at the Apple store in Soho tomorrow night. DAMN. There are actual politicians who haven't spent this much time on the road campaigning.

THE GREATEST HALLOWEEN COSTUMES EVER: Heidi Klum OMG and I don't know who this is as Rose McGowan with a gun for a leg from Planet Terror but HOLY SHIT.

I THINK IT'S TIME FOR A POLL

[Poll #1290011]

Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
I was good and got work done! Kind of. Uh. WE ARE GETTING BEHIND ON THE RECAPS, LET US DO MORE.

So, previously on "True Blood": Vampires have "come out of the coffin" (sigh). God Hates Fangs. The Woevolins ushered in a vampire and his SEXY VOICE to the little town of Bon Temps, and Anna Paquin seems to have lost her badonkadonk, but she is definitely a lady. And a waitress. And psychic. Also: vampire porn.

Sookie retorts with mustardy vengeance )


Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
Attn newcomers sending me private messages on LJ: Please check your privacy settings to make sure you can receive messages, because this is twice now I haven't been able to PM someone back.

Also: WELCOME, KNITTERS OF THE INTERNETS. PLEASE ENJOY THIS BASKET OF COMPLIMENTARY YARNS.

More from the Summer Olympics, which still has no froofy costumes, but I understand had some carnage in the weightlifting competition today AND NO I AM NOT LINKING IT, BECAUSE JUST HEARING ABOUT IT MADE ME WANT TO DIE: from [livejournal.com profile] blinkliz, Olympic opening uses girl's voice, not face; from [livejournal.com profile] iamshadow, One of Britain's divers is kind of a jerk; from the Associated Press, Phelps becomes winningest Olympic athlete ever. This headline is 100% real, y'all. Also: The Spanish basketball team displays epic stupidity.

[livejournal.com profile] livelongnmarry, "a charity fandom auction to help keep same-sex marriage legal in California (and help make it legal everywhere), has officially raised over $50k" and received the thanks of a grateful George Takei.

More linkspam, including slapstick bikinis, prosthetic wangs and A POLL! )


Site Meter

Hmmm

Jul. 1st, 2008 12:21 pm
cleolinda: (Default)
Thought #1: I noticed a song that really caught my ear, so to speak, in the scene in Wanted where Fox picks Wesley up outside his office (you know, where he's all giddy about quitting his job and all), and I caught enough of the lyrics to do a search. Except that I could not find a single song that matched--I'd assumed it was an existing song they'd just put on the soundtrack. Finally I got the bright idea to check the soundtrack listing on Amazon, and what do you know--it's a Danny Elfman song called "The Little Things," which I presume he wrote for the movie, since he also scored it. And I really love it. Good times.

(I would love to discuss how much I loved that crazy silly movie, but I almost don't even want to spoil the awesome bits for you. Some of which I left out of the Fifteen Minutes on purpose, by the way.)

Thought #2: In addition to trying to wrestle fifteen annotations into submission, I started to wonder if maybe $10 would be a more appealing price than $15. As in, maybe only put together ten annotations and save the rest for later. I already have 17 online "Fifteen Minutes"--two more than when I started annotating in April--anyway. It would make more sense to pick only ten than choose two to drop. That, and I had been angsting way too much about having to revisit Hannibal (not exactly my favorite piece of work).

(Thought #2b: We are, in fact, going to have to replace the dishwasher--I'd forgotten: the door is about to fall off--but it's not a priority until it actually falls down dead, and even then we can wash dishes by hand. I'm just saying, fundraising is still very much stressing me the hell out on my mind. I hate thinking of things in terms of money, but--well, I probably need to learn to do it more, not less.)

(Oh, by the way--the Sears Fridge Guy came. The part we need is back-ordered, so unless my mother can prevail upon Manager Sayid to just switch out a new fridge with us [shpfff, likely], we're not going to have the fridge fixed until July 11th.)

So, my question is--I reserve the right to choose whatever ends up working best for me, but just as another factor to take into account, which parodies would you be most interested in reading the Pop-Up Video version of (so to speak)? I'm curious to see if something I wouldn't have expected might rank really high (or really low). (Note: Only room for 15, so I took off the Harry Potters--POA and GOF. They're almost done, and I'm sure they'd get voted in anyway.) Vote! )


Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
More Oscar coverage, with particular regard to the hijinx of Dame Helen: Read more... )

Linkspam proper: Read more... )



Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
All right, now that I've had some sleep and some Aleve:

How my predictions stacked up )

Burning questions! Answers! Polls! )

Trufax )

Back to your regularly scheduled linkspam )


Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)
I’m going ahead and putting this poll here, because LJ will only let me have one poll per entry: Read more... )


Site Meter
cleolinda: (Default)

I wish I could be fun and blog the Golden Globes tonight, but I'm so exhausted from the weekend that I just want to curl up in a quilt on the couch or something. Unfortunately, the den couch is reserved for the Jack Bauer Power Hour (™ spidey_88), so I'll probably be sitting three feet from my TV in my computer chair. Which means that I'll be at the computer. And... knowing me, I'll end up doing some half-assed combination of both/neither, so... who knows.

(Bravo is rerunning the show on January 21, if you can't catch it tonight.)

Brief linkspam:

Clancy Brown appearing on (joining?) Lost.

Lily Rose (are you [livejournal.com profile] akathorne on LJ?): "Nothing says 'I love you, baby-mamma!' like giving your paid incubator a full, inscribed collection of your own movies on DVD."

Poll time! Are you annoyed by the consistent lack of functionality from the 'memories' feature on LJ? You know, the functionality they might want to have worked on BEFORE they unleashed The Nudge upon us?

A bit of movie news, but more importantly a Golden Globes article with nomination list, over on [livejournal.com profile] dailydigestnews, because I am trying to be good and update that.

And finally: happy (belated) birthday to [livejournal.com profile] edda!


Site Meter

cleolinda: (Default)
Went out for breakfast--Chappy's--and had a waffle. Mmmmwaffles. Also some sausage; I don't trust restaurant bacon, because it's never as crispy as I want it. And then I came home and went back to bed; and then I got up and worked; and then I had a headache and said, "I will write a journal entry now."


Random thoughts:

Do you ever reread something you wrote and find a really bizarre typo?

Walt sees Locke and Boone hiking back to camp and ducks away, yelling that he's gonna go get some whater.

I wonder if they keep that next to the haterade.


Whee! My Kate + Charlie 4Ever button (as seen in a slightly different format on E!, no less) arrived! Thank you, [livejournal.com profile] kira002!


MY HED IZ PASTEDE ON DAY! (Huh? Also, the short[er] version.)

Another great example of fandom crazy.

Help [livejournal.com profile] restriction out with her Fandom Cliché Poll.

Help [livejournal.com profile] jedilora out with her poll on media and celebrity.


Some of y'all asked me to post things and I have completely flaked and lost those links. If posting it would still do any good, let me know in the comments here, and I'll try to make up for that. (It seems that Veronica Mars got safely renewed and doesn't need our help or anything, for example.)

In that vein, if you ever ask me to do something, and I say I'll do it, and then I don't, please come back and remind me ("Hey, how's that thing coming?"), because... well, I don't want to make it sound like I'm a complete space cadet, but I have a lot on my mind. Let's put it that way. And this is not something that's going to change--it's not necessarily a stress thing; it's just how I am. I've usually got current schoolwork, future evil term paper and/or exam, current writing project, five other projects that want to be worked on, various personal relationship issues, something I've inevitably forgotten to do and am now in trouble for, and one or more Stupid Crack Songs roaring through my head at any given time. I'm not saying the rest of y'all don't have the same stuff going on, but... I don't think I compartmentalize well. It's all going on, simultaneously, all the time. You know how you're turning the dial on the radio and you sort of get two stations playing over each other at once? And then someone next to you in the car is talking, and there's another conversation going on in the back seat as well? That's kind of what my head is like. I just need y'all's patience and a little help sometimes, is all I'm saying.



Site Meter

Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 05:02 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios